Category: Audio

Earthholder release new LP There Will Be a Future

Earthholder is a metal/post-rock outfit which released their new record There Will Be a Future just before the holiday weekend on August 28th. This is their follow up to 2016's Don't Worry, We Feel It Too — and you can stream the new one below. Check out the album art, track listing, credits, and more below that.

There Will Be a Future

  1. Reflect
  2. Above Water / Under Current
  3. The Castle, The Tower, I Am 
  4. Pause 
  5. Deconstruct: My Ghost Living: Reconstruct
  6. Conscious 
  7. The Moment I Thought I Was Infinite
  8. There Will Be a Future
  9. Forthcoming

All songs written by Earthholder

Earthholder is:
Drums - Blaine Wright
Bass - Orie Turnbull
Guitar - Denton Hird
Guitar/Keys - Jason Landis

Recorded, Mixed, and Mastered by Christian Arnold
Artwork by Barry Callahan


Melvin Knight's new album Shades of Us is out now

Crofton Coleman's project Melvin Knight has released his new recordShades of Us, into the world. You should absolutely listen, it is quite good — Spotify and Apple Music are where you can find it.

Check out the track listing and album art below, and head back and watch the video for "Ice Cream"

Shades of Us:

  1. Intro
  2. Ice Cream
  3. Shades of Us
  4. That's the Truth (interlude)
  5. Butterfly Bed
  6. Everything is Everything
  7. Magic (interlude)
  8. Promised Land
  9. Paradise in Spring
  10. Sandcastles

Staghorn release new record Wormwood III; listen now

Experimental/post-rock trio Staghorn have released their new record, Wormwood III, which you can stream now. The album was written and recorded at Earth Analog studios, engineered by Aaron McAllister.

The single track spans nearly 23 minutes. The band is performing at Audiofeed Festival this week, and while you're at it, read our interview with them.

Album art by Seth Rodgers

Easter's DEMONSTRATION reissued, Kyle Lang's Special Death 7'' released on Rat King Records

Although Special Death isn't a local project, Rat King Records is a local label, and Special Death features Kyle Lang of Easter. Easter lived a wonderful existence in Champaign-Urbana, and I posted a little while back about the lovely DEMONSTRATION on Easter.

Special Death just released a new 7'' on Rat King Records, and the label also is reissueing DEMONSTRATION on cassette.

Here's the video for "Night With A Friend" from the Special Death release:

Top photo is a screenshot from the video.

Gazelle's Sunblown came out 10 years ago this week

Gazelle's Sunblown might be a record and a band you've never heard of, and that's OK. Adam Fein of Absinthe Blind and Jeff Dimpsey of Hum, Honcho Overload, and National Skyline made this record, and it came out 10 years ago this week — June 10th, 2008. Sunblown was released on Hidden Agenda, and rated as one of the best releases of the decade by the SP team back in 2009.

Stream the record below:


Winder announce EP, GONE, FOR GOOD; stream new track "Brain Tired"

Winder has announced a new EP entitled GONE, FOR GOOD — and you can stream a brand new track below, "Brain Tired". The band has a performance tonight at Blips and Chitz, and you can preorder the album via their Bandcamp (linked above). The EP is out July 6th.

This release is a follow up to 2017's ALWAYS ASSUME.

  1. Brain Tired
  2. An Augury
  4. I Mean, Maybe
  5. Floral Print Handkerchief

Top photo by Veronica Mullen, Album Art by Never Angel Nørth.

Audio / Word

Give Back Garden needs volunteers

I stopped by the Give Back Garden (201 W. Kenyon Road, Champaign) this week and learned that they are in need of volunteers NOW for the following tasks:

  • Watering beds
  • Weeding
  • Mulching
  • Fence painting
  • Additional planting
  • Overall garden maintenance

All of the garden's harvest is free and given away to the community, but they need assistance with growing and maintaining the garden. All tools are supplied by the GBG. 

So, if you individually are interested in gardening/community service or are affiliated with groups looking for summer projects, please reach out to Valerie at and commit your organization to support this effort this summer. 

Check out SP's article on the Give Back Garden for more info on the work that they do.

Photo by Nicole Anderson Cobb


Snayl's new album Without slated for June 9th release

Experimental electronic project Snayl has a new album on the way — Without is out on Jun 9th. The album will feature CJ Run, Cii La'Cole, KVMPVIGN, and more. This is the follow up to Snayl's last record, Dreaming of Ghosts.

Earlier this week, Motes announced their new album Crash the Day would also be out June 9th.

Check out the track listing and album art below.


  1. Under Bright Ghosts
  2. Bebop Lizard
  3. Happily Coherent
  4. We Were Seabirds
  5. Warm Rain (ft. Cii La'Cole)
  6. If Only (ft. KVMPVIGN & CJ Run)
  7. Neighbors
  8. Without

Album art by Billi Jo Hart

Audio / Word

Motes detail new album Crash The Day, share new track "Again Again"

Back in March, Motes announced their new record Crash The Day was on its way. Today they've detailed more information about the Keep it in the Dark follow up, which is out June 1st 8th via Heirship Records.

Check out the album art, track listing, and new single "Again Again" below.

Cover art by Paige Spangler

Crash The Day:

  1. Montana
  2. Salt
  3. Came To
  4. Silver Pine
  5. Acting Alone
  6. Day Moon
  7. Again Again
  8. Problem Patron
  9. Choir
  10. Softer