Smile Politely

Here are the primary election results

Since 2017, many have driven around town with Unseat Rodney Davis magnets on their cars. We’ve certainly devoted a bit of space to his nonsense here. From a “Smile Politely Rodney Davis” Google search:

Screenshot from Google.

This doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface. 

Now, Rodney Davis has indeed been unseated, though not quite in the way we’d hoped. In the newly drawn IL-15 congressional district, he was defeated by Hitler quoting incumbent Mary Miller, who most recently went viral for championing “white life” at her Adams County rally with Trump. This is who the people want. I think CU Indivisible had the best summary of Hot Rod’s defeat:

In IL-13, Nikki Budzinski defeated David Palmer to secure the Democratic nomination. She will face Regan Deering on the Republican side. In the Illinois Public Media candidate debate, Deering was unwilling to admit that Biden won the presidential election. Budzinski likely has a bit of an edge in this new version of the district, but it is still going to be a fight to flip the district blue.

Other races to note:

Governor: Darren Bailey (R) (the guy who sued Pritzker and refused to wear a mask on the floor of the Illinois Senate) will challenge J.B. Pritzker (D).

Attorney General: Thomas Devore (R) (the guy who sued Pritzker over the school mask mandate) will challenge Kwame Raoul (D).

Secretary of State: Alexi Giannoulias (D) will face Dan Brady (R) to take over Jesse White’s long held seat.

U.S. Senate: Kathy Salvi (R) will challenge Tammy Duckworth (D).

There weren’t many primary challengers in county races, but there will be some major contests come November. Stay tuned. 

Champaign County Sheriff: John P. Brown (R) will challenge Dustin Heuerman (D).

You can learn more about last night’s election results from Illinois Public Media’s live coverage. See the county clerk’s unofficial results for Champaign County here. It was another low turnout race, with only about 22 percent of registered voters casting a ballot.

Top photo by Steven Pratten.

Managing Editor

More Articles