Smile Politely

Submit your nominations for the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Countywide Celebration

The 22nd Annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Countywide Celebration, sponsored by City of Champaign, City of Urbana, Champaign County, Parkland College, the University of Illinois, and the Village of Rantoul, is coming up on January 15th. Organizers are calling for nominations for the three awards given out at the ceremony:

  • James R. Burgess, Jr./Susan Freiburg Humanitarian Award – An award honoring the humanitarian efforts of individuals who contribute to the basic human dignity of those in need.
  • Doris Hoskins Prestigious Community Service Award – An award honoring individuals who engage in improving the well-being of Champaign County.
  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Outstanding Achievement Award – An award honoring individuals or organizations that work for social justice in the spirit of Dr. King.

Know a person or organization that embodies one of these? You can nominate them now through December 18th on the MLK celebration website. Last year’s celebration honored Janice Walker, James TYGAR Corbin, and Courage Connection for their contributions to the community.

Top photo from Champaign County Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration Facebook page.

Managing Editor

Related Articles