Smile Politely

Jay Moses releases new EP, The Thirst Vol. 1

Jay Moses has dropped a new EP, The Thirst Vol. 1, via TheGr8Thinkaz Soundcloud page. The project runs seven songs long, features production from TheGr8Thinkaz’ own Rokmore on five songs and frequent collaborator H. Kal-El on two songs, and guest vocal appearances by Gr8Sky  and Klevah of TheGr8Thinkaz and Cii La’Cole. The new EP’s title track, The Thirst, was released last fall to praise from our own Boswell Hutson, and last summer’s Champaign Dreams: 1999 also found a spot on this release as the closing track. Check out the music video for Champaign Dreams: 1999, directed by local videographer FlyShotz, here on the FlyShotz YouTube page.

The album details the personal struggles and triumphs of Jay Moses’s life as an aspring rapper. The production style throughout is spacey and chill, with lots of Rokmore’s signature jazzy style and boom-bap drums providing a fitting canvas for Jay’s smooth vocal flow and sometimes introspective lyrics. 

Earlier this year TheGr8Thinkaz’ member Gr8Sky released his own EP, 5 pts, and TheGr8Thinkaz’ member Klevah teamed up with T.R.U.T.H to release Mother Nature, the self titled debut LP from that duo, out on vinyl via Heirship Records. The trend of hip-hop’s growing cache on the local scene seems to be going strong through 2016.

More Articles