Smile Politely

Listen to Ride of Springfield, the new album from the Gobbo/Stark Quartet

The Gobbo/Stark Quartet — founded by guitarist José Emilio Gobbo and saxophonist Brian Stark — have just released their first album, titled Ride of Springfield. 

Named for the weekly commute the two musicians shared betwen Champaign and Springfield, the album features 8 original tunes — 4 from Gobbo, 4 from Stark. The quartet also features Emma Taylor on bass and Drew Cox on drums. 

The record is chock-full with some beautifully memorable melodic lines, wonderful atmosphere, and strong solos by all four members. Check out the album on Spotify, Tidal, Amazon Music, or wherever you get your music.

Album cover by Kinsey Fitzgerald.

More Articles