Ms. Harris recently received the 2018 Hugh C. Atkinson Memorial Award from the Illinois Library Association, and has worked for the Champaign Public Library for 49 years. Champaign Mayor Deb Feinen designated October 9th Essie Harris Day in honor of this accomplishment. According to the CPL, "the ILA presents the award annually to recognize sustained activity and contributions that have a lasting impact on librarianship." You can read more about her accomplishment here.

Photo from Champaign Public Library