Smile Politely

Visit Champaign County is toasting tourism on Wednesday

On Wednesday, July 13th, the Visit Champaign County Foundation is hosting their annual Toast to Tourism awards at The Virginia Theatre. The ceremony will honor five business leaders in the hospitality industry in Champaign County. This year’s honorees include:

  • Kayla Brown, Fire Doll Studio
  • Riggs Family, Riggs Beer Company
  • Jon Seydl, Krannert Art Museum
  • Syl Keller, Monticello Railway Museum
  • Michael McDonald, Wood N’ Hog Barbecue.

Jayne DeLuce, CEO of Visit Champaign County, will present the awards and offer remarks. Karla Flannery, Director of the Illinois Office of Tourism, will present a special tourism award to Harry Buerkett, an Urbana resident who represents the State at the Salt Kettle Tourism Information Center, and will recognize CBPB Popcorn Shop for becoming an Illinois Made Maker.

Top photo by Alyssa Buckley.

More Articles